Steel angles bending

terryjr

I pretty much bend metal for a living. I'd agree with a comment above that it was likely from a large pothole. The force on that angle is from the tire/knuckle trying to go up, and the spring/shock on that lower control arm trying to keep it down and what you found is the weak link. I wouldn't call it weak but when you hit, i'm assuming, the immovable object, thousands of pounds of force was absorbed in that bend. I don't know much about the older billet ones but to bend that angle, would likely also pull the threads out of aluminum. I dont think that it will bend much further or even break, its almost close enough to tensile force not to go anywhere. I'd just get a new angle, maybe one bent from A572 rather than A36 and just keep an eye on it.

jpr

Thanks Terry. The mystifying part is that I haven't gone through any large potholes. I'll look into A572.

I emailed DF asking for a couple spares Saturday, have yet to hear back... hopefully will be back on the road soon.

terryjr

On second thought i'd just replace it with what they gave you, that being a "weak link" of sorts can also prevent some more catastrophic like the aluminum knuckle or heim joint breaking, that would end up much worse. It sounds like you are the only one so far with this issue, i'd just replace it with what it was

Reactions: jpr

Briann1177

Goblin Guru