AZMoto #245 ext-track - 09 SS TC

dastrups

Stupid question for you all but is there a gasket that goes between engine and transmission? Or do you use some form of gasket maker? Just purchased a service manual but it is not here yet.

dastrups

Also any advice on engine break in procedure is much appreciated. I have been doing some research on varying rpm's and break in oil/frequent changes but I am a newbie.

Rauq

Goblin Guru
Stupid question for you all but is there a gasket that goes between engine and transmission? Or do you use some form of gasket maker? Just purchased a service manual but it is not here yet.
I have some sort of aluminum midplate/spacer guy between the engine and trans (LSJ here), I'm sure someone else will have a more correct name for it. I can get a picture when I get home tonight. But no gasket or silicone or anything like that.

AZmoto

I got the ECU image downloaded to HPTuners. I don't see anything strange going on so I believe it's stock.

Also ran a compression test (cold): 170, 170, 175, 170 so the motor looks like it's in good shape although I won't be keeping it now. I just wanted to make sure there wasn't a cracked ring land which is a weakness in some of these LNF motors.

pisco

I believe we have the same donor
Ss/tc f35 trans..
there is an aluminum spacer plate that goes between. It has a cutout on bottom no gasket or silicone

Ross

Goblin Guru
Do you know what it means when they say "after a couple heats cycles" and "start running it under power"? I feel pretty stupid for asking. I think I know but I want to be sure.
A heat cycle is starting with a cold engine, bring the engine up to full operating temperature (drive 5 miles or more), then let it cool down to cold again. That is 1 heat cycle. Repeat this a few times before going on to the next step.