It's very loud

Ghostknife

Goblin Guru
Glad to know it isn't just me then. I put the old cast iron exhaust manifold on and it made no difference so it's not the ZZP header. It's just loud, very loud. I don't know if I should pack the pipe with steel wool or something. I wish I was a welder so I could build an exhaust with more length/bends and add some resonators to it. I'm sure it would cost a small fortune having someone do it for me.
Vibrant makes short resonators, maybe add one in the section below the muffler?

Dsteinhorst

You may benefit from downsizing to a 2" exhaust that DF sends with the N/A kits. I went from a 2" to a 3" and there was a HUGE increase in noise. I believe the forced induction donors got a 2.5"

Rttoys

Goblin Guru
Meh. My bikes are loud (non Harley), but well toned like the goblin, so I’m use to the noise. My daily driver is quiet though.

JBINTX

Goblin Guru
Glad to know it isn't just me then. I put the old cast iron exhaust manifold on and it made no difference so it's not the ZZP header. It's just loud, very loud. I don't know if I should pack the pipe with steel wool or something. I wish I was a welder so I could build an exhaust with more length/bends and add some resonators to it. I'm sure it would cost a small fortune having someone do it for me.
@Rttoys might want to give you some advice about installing sound deadening material in your exhaust.

G Atsma

Goblin Guru
How hard is it to get a quieter muffler?? There are dozens (conservative count, lol) to choose from that will fit.
I fail to see the issue here. Ecotecs are not unique in any way...

Fozda

Goblin Guru
How hard is it to get a quieter muffler?? There are dozens (conservative count, lol) to choose from that will fit.
I fail to see the issue here. Ecotecs are not unique in any way...
Ecotecs might not be very unique but the location and available space for a muffler in the Goblin is fairly unique...

Reactions: jpr

G Atsma

Goblin Guru