Blue Man's City Goblin - 05 Base Donor

Blue Man

I've been on the forum in a couple of different threads for awhile now trying to get off the ground on this project, and I've reached the point that I think a build log will be the best way to do this moving forward. Looking back, I should have started with this, right? All part of the learning process though, so here goes . . .

Hi! I'm Chris and I'm a dentist, not a mechanic, and my son, Boston, is an electrical apprentice. Neither of us has much car experience. I have changed oil and brakes and a few bulbs, but that is about the extent of my expertise with cars. My son has even less. When the car breaks down, we take it to the shop and say, "It doesn't go." That's where we are coming from. One grandfather was a life long automechanic and the other was a life long carpenter, so that kind of stuff is in the blood though.

We wanted a project that we could do together that resulted in something tangible and worthwhile. We wanted something that did not involve a screen and something we could be proud of. We searched around and thought we might try to restore a car, but were advised to start on something "simpler" first. (I think "simpler" is a relative term here.) Kit cars was a suggestion. So we looked up kit cars and came across the goblin and thought that this might be the perfect fit to see if we were cut out for this type of project and if we enjoyed it.

We jumped on the forum here and started asking if people with our background should even attempt this. We got some good feedback and support. It was also suggested that we try and meeting up with one of the two goblin buildings in the valley here. We were able to meet up with Todd. He and his son had built a goblin. They were kind enough to hang out with us for an hour and show us their goblin, take us for a ride, talk about the build and the challenges and offer advice if needed along the way. That kind of sealed the deal for us.