Canadian Import - A Story / Log

DMSimone

Hi everyone,
I'm starting the journey of becoming yet another Canadian goblin owner (hopefully). I've been eyeing this kit for a couple of years now and I'm getting to a position where I can kick off this build. This post is mainly going to be a log of to do's for me and if anyone has any suggestions, feedback etc.
I'm not asking the community to do the work. But want to keep a history of what happens throughout this build.

For reference, I currently own a 2008 Pontiac G5 which shares almost everything with the Cobalt. Purchased it stock with the 2.2L and supercharged and added mods from there. I like the idea of this kit as it will build off something I already own... Maybe sentimental reasons as well, first car etc.

Donor Car Details
2008 Pontiac G5 - Manual Trans (Getrag F23)
2.2L (L61) with stage 3 kit from ZZP (2.6" pulley)
All disk brake upgrade - Donor was 2006 Pontiac Pursuit (G5) GT (Bolt patterns are 5x110)

2023-04
Starting point is: https://dfkitcar.com/files/Importing DF Goblin Kit into Canada.pdf
Questions to answer still / research previous posts;
Registration - When to contact Transport Canada. How soon before shipping.
Insurance - Who has the best deal. Who can do seasonal insurance, if any.
Shipping - Available shippers / options (Windsor, ONT or Detroit, MI). Will a broker be required.
Purchasing - Can this be done in stages or does it need to be done in one shot.
Frame - What frame size / styles are available. Is custom an option.
Paint - Need to get a powder coating quote from local vendor vs from factory.
Safety - What are the common addons to pass safety.

Rauq

Goblin Guru