Deviant Goblin - Extended Track #373 | 07 SS/SC donor

devianteng

Hi, and welcome to my build log!

About me:
My name is Derek (or you can call me devianteng), and I'm out of the Louisville KY area (just south of). I'm a computer guy by trade (Information and Data Security), 3D printing nerd, and also enjoy turning wrenches and "playing" in my workshop. I have a few bikes (
2020 Honda Monkey Z125, 2020 Moto Guzzi V85TT) and enjoy riding whenever the wife lets me. I also enjoy building and riding mini bikes and go karts; recently bought a Rogue Fab tube bender with the goal of making a crosskart one day, and I'm an okay-ish welder (trusty Hobart Handler 140).
I've been following the DF community for a few years now, but just recently was able to order my kit. I previously had a 2006 SS/SC that I become real familiar with, learned a lot, got my first hands on experience with HPTuners, but decided to sell the car as I had no ability to order my kit any time soon. Fast forward 18 months, and here we are!

My Goblin will formally be known as the "Deviant Goblin". Why? "Deviant Engineer" is an online name I coined nearly 10 years ago now. I have a tech blog (albeit, not updated frequently at all) with the same name, and I often use "DeviantEng" or "DevEng" as short hand. It would feel wrong to NOT use "Deviant Goblin" for my build.

Donor car:
For this build, I have picked up a 2007 Cobalt SS/SC to use as my donor. As far as I can tell, the powertrain is stock and never modded. The car has the factory exhaust with cat intact, factory pulley on the supercharger, no dual pass endplate, and the factory intake.