Eric's Track Goblin - 06 SS/SC donor

Esstover

Just a guy looking for a fun project. I'm not a mechanic so this will be new for me. Planning for this to replace my motorcycle on pretty days. Might check out the autocross scene but really just plan on driving it.

My journey so far. I found an 06 SS/SC on FB Marketplace. That was fun because I refuse to have a FB account so I did all the searching using my wife's account. The car I found had been sitting for a while (license plate was 2019). I was told it did not run and they provided some engine codes. I was also told it needed a clutch. I spent the first weekend chasing wiring and pulling wiring diagrams. Something just did not line up. Finally came across a post on a Cobalt forum about swapping plugs. I have since found similar folks on DF Forum talking about it. I swapped the plugs and it fired right up. I then started researching clutch issues and found good info on the leak that commonly occurs on the nipple that comes through the transmission housing on the clutch pipe. I ordered a new clutch pipe from ZZP and replaced the O-ring. Clutch is now working fine. I had bought a new battery for it and put new wipers on it. I had plans on driving my donor for a bit so I was working on getting it ready for WV state inspection. I actually sourced a headlight from 95Blitz (thanks). The only thing I was lacking was some decent tires. I wasn't ready to invest $500-600 in tires and it was becoming obvious that I wasn’t going to find any pre-owned tires the size I needed. So I drove it some anyway and ended up on the side of the interstate with destroyed front right. Put the donut on and got it home. It's been setting and waiting ever since. I put my order in on Christmas Eve (12/24/22). So I guess it's time to get started. I've watched a few of the videos. I think I'm going to try to get it to a local shop first and get the refrigerant out of it, then pull it in the garage for teardown.

Donor photo day of purchase.