Issues getting the Brakes and Clutch Bleed.

viperbmw69

I need help figuring out what I am doing wrong. I have replaced the Clutch and Brake Master Cylinders I did not know I needed to prime the brake master cylinder. I have done that now. I have bleed the clutch many times and it still feels wrong and the clutch engages right at the floor As soon as you move it.

The Brakes are just spongy and not right. I have used a vacuum pump to bleed the brakes but it does not ever seem to stop bubbles. I do not think I have any leaks not seeing anything off hand.

I have zero experience bleeding brakes and or clutch. Im just going off videos and googling. Any help is greatly appreciated

Rttoys

Goblin Guru
Have you tried the old school method of having someone hold the pedal down while you open the bleeders?

my vacuum bleeder worked great, but that last bit on the clutch needed the old school method.
Plus make sure the pedals come all the way back before you press it down to pressurize again.

viperbmw69

Have you tried the old school method of having someone hold the pedal down while you open the bleeders?

my vacuum bleeder worked great, but that last bit on the clutch needed the old school method.
Plus make sure the pedals come all the way back before you press it down to pressurize again.
Yep had someone pump pump hold, then I released the valve. Then tighten and release the pedal.

Gtstorey

Goblin Guru
My preferred method is to pressure bleed them instead of vacuum. I use a Motive Bleeder but have had luck in the past with pumping from the caliper end. Just be careful with the Motive type bleeder. I think I over pressurized the reservoir this or held pressure way to long and ended up with a weeping reservoir. Of course it was the cheapest reservoir I could find, so it might have been bad to start with.

Ross

Goblin Guru
I used a vacuum bleeder to fill the empty lines, then had to pressure bleed them, as I still had air in them.