Looking for Maintenance Recommendations

Devo

My donor is a 2006 SS/SC with approximately 60k on the odometer. It was a salvage purchase through Copart, and I have no knowledge on any service history. It ran and sounded good prior to removal from the chassis. Additionally, no check engine light was on.

I’m looking for recommendations on how far down the maintenance rabbit hole to go. I was planning on a timing set, water pump, & clutch. Any other general wear items that should be addressed with it being easy to access? For the timing sets, are new sprockets a necessity?

Brett

There are several trains of thought on this, here are a couple.

-Don't do anything other than plugs / oil / timing chain bolt / transmission fluid. Since it is all running, change as little as possible and then address anything needed after the build is completed.

-Go down the rabbit hole and change everything.

Personally, I wanted to limit risk during my build, made minimal changes to the drivetrain since it was running and now I am at the point of "what do I want to change".

Brett

Devo

There are several trains of thought on this, here are a couple.

-Don't do anything other than plugs / oil / timing chain bolt / transmission fluid. Since it is all running, change as little as possible and then address anything needed after the build is completed.

-Go down the rabbit hole and change everything.

Personally, I wanted to limit risk during my build, made minimal changes to the drivetrain since it was running and now I am at the point of "what do I want to change".

Brett
Thanks Brett. I've waffled heavily on those two options. I don't want to miss the opportunity of easy access but similarly didn't want to swap out a slug of parts just to do it. I like the idea of limiting risks during the build, so I'll probably start with the minimum.

Sluggonaut

Goblin Guru