No Power, How Do I Test Issues?

KingChuck24

So we got the wiring from DF yesterday and installed it in what we think is the correct way. We went to connect the battery terminals but whenever we go to connect the second one we get spark, not sure if that's an issue. I am very new to anything electrical and will probably need quite a bit of help with stuff like this. From other things I have read people test continuity, how do I do this? Do I grab a multimeter and where would I connect both of the leads. How would I check to see if the grounds are working? How do I check to see if some wires came loose? Also does the negative terminal that extends from the battery go to the ground that is attached to the battery holder on the frame?

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Gtstorey

Goblin Guru
****, not going to be easy to trouble shoot this without basic electrical skills . Let’s start with are your battery cables currently connected? If yes and you don’t see smoke then the spark is likely normal. If the battery isn’t currently connected m my, disconnect cable from the fuse box and check continuity from battery wire to ground.

Post a picture of your multimeter so we can tell you how to connect it w read continuity.

lksohm

Some easy things to try are things like, making sure your key is off and headlight switches are turned off when attaching the battery cables. A small spark is normal but if large could be a sign of an issue.
Yes, the negative cable goes to the threaded rod on the side of the battery holder.
Something to try if you have a decent multimeter is how many amps are coming from your battery when you try to connect it.

Robinjo

Goblin Guru
For the hooking up the wire harness, I just followed the YouTube videos and it went through it all. I would watch those videos again.

How big of sparks? Just tiny ones when connecting the terminals or big scary ones? There usually is some small sparks when I connect my battery or B+ terminal

Last edited: