Texas title signed but not notarized. Does it need to be? What do I do?

Dakota8800

The donor I purchased is actually the first vehicle I purchased on my own.
Please excuse my ignorance, as I am new to this whole process.
I checked that the title was signed by the seller on the back (and it was) and checked for a notarization/seal blank but did not find it.
Now I am paranoid.
I've done the research, but can't come to a solid conclusion.
Did I have to fill out another form?
Could I still get the title transferred to Oklahoma?

Not sure if this is relevant, but the title was issued in 2015. Just in case older laws apply.
Any insight is greatly appreciated.

Dakota8800

Did you get form 130-U signed from the seller?
https://www.txdmv.gov/motorists/buying-or-selling-a-vehicle

The title does not need to be notarized.
Ouch. No. Didn't know there was such a thing. If I send it to him and he signs it will that work?

Here is the issue. I bought the vehicle from someone who bought it from the person on the title. The original owner signed the title. I have the address of the person on the title but that is it.
Is there another option?

Rttoys

Goblin Guru
Are you going to drive this before you tear it apart? What’s the reason for transferring the title?

If you are transferring from another state, you will also need a Texas state inspection with an out of state form. The state inspector will do all that for you.

Also, what jbintx said.

JBINTX

Goblin Guru
Ouch. No. Didn't know there was such a thing. If I send it to him and he signs it will that work?

Here is the issue. I bought the vehicle from someone who bought it from the person on the title. The original owner signed the title. I have the address of the person on the title but that is it.
Is there another option?