this is my vinyl wrap thread

ColoradoCryptoTrader

Hello :)

I will document the various items on the car that I am vinyl wrapping. I am using the following materials...

Teckwrap - Kelly Green - high gloss (RB22-HD)
Teckwrap - Dark Platinum - high gloss (RB12-HD)
3M metallic silver pinstripe 1/4" width
Generic knifeless tape

This is my first time wrapping. I have been doing a lot of research and ready to give it a try. This Teckwrap is really nice stuff, it has a very very low initial tack.

Here I have the steering wheel center and the rear license plate mount

k.rollin

Goblin Guru
Are you using any solution prior installing the wrap? I don't think you'd really need it on the items pictured above but more complex curves I used baby shampoo in water and it made life a lot easier to get in place and squeegeed.
When I've applied vinyl, I did so per the manufacturer or distributor instructions. The Avery-Dennison films for my side panels went on dry, and the wàngskinz and die cut lettering from Spinnywhoosh went on with an IPA/water/dish soap solution.

ColoradoCryptoTrader

I dont plan on using any solution on the parts. Teckwrap is awesome, at first it barely feels sticky at all, there are tiny channels in the adhesive for removing trapped air also. Should be okay applying to dry surface.

Last edited:

PaulPerger

When I've applied vinyl, I did so per the manufacturer or distributor instructions. The Avery-Dennison films for my side panels went on dry, and the wàngskinz and die cut lettering from Spinnywhoosh went on with an IPA/water/dish soap solution.
Never tried adding good beer to the mix... ;););) Maybe into the applier!! :p:p

ColoradoCryptoTrader

For my first time wrapping I am happy with the result! I did inlays around the nose to prevent overstretching. CK wraps and Paradox the wrapper on YouTube were great resources. And all of the knifeless tape videos :)

Last edited:

Keckster