Why so many masochistic car builders here???

Ark :D

Goblin Guru
This thread just boggles my mind.

I completely disagree with the OP's opinion. Guy probably read a single, 3-page build log and thought that was all the "research" he needed to do before buying his kit. Regardless, I'd like to try to turn this into something positive/constructive.

I'm a 43-year-old IT guy (network admin) by trade, with a wife of nearly 20 years and a 13-year-old daughter. Prior to the Goblin, I would have fallen into the "novice - has only changed his oil" camp. I struggled with parts of my build, including buying a first donor with a ruined engine, ruining my first harness and having to source a second one (that was not easy), and other things. My build log has like 20 pages of electrical troubleshooting, all courtesy of the good people of this forum. I had several calls (not initiated by me!) with DF, to discuss what was going on and what direction I should go next. One of the biggest contributors to actually fixing my electrical issue, was a guy on this forum who does not own a Goblin and is not even in the market for one. If THAT is not a giving, caring community, I don't know what is and frankly, I find it incredibly insulting that the original poster would even state that the help here made it worse. Consider that a burnt bridge, as far as I am concerned.

Yet, despite the above, I persevered and now have a fun, fair-weather car that I am proud to drive and show off. All because of the help I received from DF and from the forum in particular. Nobody has ever asked me a question about, or been caught staring at, either of my daily drivers ... but that happens every time I get this car out of the garage.