Will TPMS work?

MJP61

Hello. I am new to the forum. I am just starting out with a kit car. I am searching for a donor and have a few questions?

1. If I go with a 2009 or 2010 cobalt that has TPMS, will the TPMS system work properly when car is complete? Or will dashboard tpms light be illuminated?
2. Is there any significant difference in the donor car being automatic or manual? Is one more beneficial than the other?

r3drckt

Goblin Guru
Welcome to the forum! TPMS should still work as you keep the sensor in the wire harness during the thinning process. The only big difference between auto and manual is preference. Some want the goblin to cruise in only and an automatic makes this extremely easy to do. Others prefer the manual because of the feeling of being “connected” and in control of the car. I personally wanted the manual for my build. However, having an automatic gives you the opportunity to have a versatile goblin. The automatics can handle the large tires needed for overlanding/light off-roading. The manuals you’d burn up clutches with trying to rotate large tires. If you want the ability of street tires to cruise around with and only having to swap wheels/tires (maybe spacers) to convert to a trail blazing machine, then automatic is the way to go

MJP61