Wrap question

Trail_Creeper

For those that have wrapped the car... how much vinyl did it take to wrap the hood? How much to wrap the side panels?

I figured a couple 6'x5' pieces would do it, but need some input from people that have done it.

Ark :D

Goblin Guru

Trail_Creeper

I saw the wine red you did and it looks great. Plastidip was an option, but I have little experience with it. Wrap and paint on the other hand I have a fair amount of experience with.

The biggest question about the wrap was meant to be how much material. I have a couple 6'x5' rolls and one, maybe two 7'x3' rolls laying around the house that I think would look good on the Goblin

Ark :D

Goblin Guru
Good reasons to stay with wrap, then.

Are you going to have an engine cover? If so, that probably won't be enough. Everyone I remember doing a wrap job, has stated that the hood took two pieces. Dimensionally, I'm fairly certain it's too wide for a single piece of running it front to back, and too long for a single piece if running it from side to side. The side body panels could both be done with one 7x3 roll if you're careful and only do the outside (as I did).

If you have three 6x5 pieces, you're covered. Only two though .... probably not.

Last edited:

Trail_Creeper

I won't be running an engine cover. Hopefully I have enough to do the job, if not then I'll order up something "different" instead of the blue and black I have

Sluggonaut

Goblin Guru
In my shopping for quote process, I've been told 5-6 yards when sharing rough dimensions and pics of the hood and side panels.

Rauq

Goblin Guru
You're certainly welcome to order 5-6 yards but 5'x13' will do the entire hood and both side panels.

Sluggonaut

Goblin Guru
So dumb question, is yards a measure in square yards or in length of a given width wrap?

In shopping for wrap I see they come in different widths (I've seen 54" and 60" in most of my searches) and they are either ordered by a LxW dimension or by the yard.

Rauq

Goblin Guru