Write up on bleeding brakes and clutch?

PHENDERSON

There is a lot of info in many different locations on several different ways to bleed the system, for those of us new to the process (me included) it's a little confusing.

I'm wondering if there is a step by step write up on the process of filling/bleeding the brake and clutch system. If not, does anyone with experience want to create one? It seems like there are enough questions on the topic that it would help a lot of us.

TravMac

To echo Sluggonaut: Bench bleeding really should be done with any master cylinder after taking everything apart like this. It's the only way i got my master cylinder to pump to the rear. Was nearly thinking I'd need new parts until I realized it hadn't been done before bolting it up to the car. Good thing it's easy access to take on/off!

Gtstorey

Goblin Guru
A lot of the procedure depends on what tools and help you have available. I prefer pressure bleeding, but you have to have the tools to do that. It does make it a simple 1 person procedure.
I've had motorcycles that the only way I could get air purged was to push fluid in from the calipers.
I've never had much luck with vacuum bleeding, but that is the way a lot of people prefer. Most of my use of vacuum was on motorcycles though and probably the worst possible case for vacuum bleeding with nothing but a vertical run to the caliper.
Nothing wrong with the old fashion 2 person press, hold, bleed, release method, but it can be slow and you need patience and help.

Chubbs

Pressure bleeding was the only way I could make the goblin work. I'm not sure why, I almost always vacuum bleed. But I tried and tried with my vacuum and I could never get the pedal to firm up.

I don't have a pressure bleeder. I went to the autoparts store and bought a new master cylinder cap. Like this: