Base Model Performance

120mm

Just saw the Goblin on Goonzquad, and found this forum as a result.

I'm an aircraft mechanic, and I'm not far from retirement, and I've been planning to build and race vintage cars as a hobby.

My last race experience was go karts in high school, so when I saw the Goblin, I realized there might be a more affordable way to learn how to race cars then risking vintage tin. It seems to me, a base model Goblin with the automatic tranny would make a decent training car for someone serious about learning to drive a car to its limits.

Most cars I've seen/read about have been SC/TC cars with manuals, so I am interested in hearing more about how the base model car performs.

Thanks!

JeffsGoblin

Goblin Guru
jpr built an automatic. Really nice too!

Karter2026

Goblin Guru
I would hope to be able to answer your question in a few weeks. Waiting on PADOT for paperwork. My car is a 2.2 N/A 5sp. I can say the couple short drives I took around the block were impressive for a n/a car.

Last edited:

120mm

Just read jpr's thread.

Cool build, but not much on performance.

I did note how he debated about manual v automatic.

Like jpr, I'm interested in basically a disposable car, to learn on. I doubt I'll spend much money on finishing, or upgrades. Would definitely like to autocross it, though.

Desert Sasqwatch

Goblin Guru
Welcome to the forum. If you need performance in a NA car, then a 2.4 liter donor is the best option to build with about 175HP, if you don't want an SC or TC car. Another option is to purchase one of the already built cars that are for sale by builders here on the forum. These can be found in the Classified section.

ctuinstra

Goblin Guru