Any advice on dirty engine internals?

ZacMaster

Pulled off the valve cover last night and found it’s pretty dirty in there.

I have ZERO experience cleaning engines. Any easy ways I can clean some of this stuff up?

Wait till it’s running then cycle a lot of oil through? Brake cleaner and immediate drain?

Won’t do anything without guidance....

8CD701B6-4D26-4650-9C95-0BA5711ADFE2.jpeg

94C9289D-259D-425C-B89E-543432554A3D.jpeg

Lonny

Administrator
Staff member
If you start cleaning inside the cylinder head there is a good chance you will be loosening up gunk that will eventually start migrating it's way through the engine. If you want the inside of the engine to look clean I would suggest a complete rebuild.
Unless you feel there was a problem with the engine I would not try to fix it.

ctuinstra

Goblin Guru
I agree with Lonny. The only good way to clean that is to strip it down completely and take it in to get it professionally done. We have professional machine company around here that has a hot bath that they can clean things like that, but you still have strip it down and might as well rebuild it at that point.

How many miles on it? Curious, ours had 116K and was barely stained. I just wonder if they didn't change the oil in it or used crappy oil.

I don't have a photo of the top. This was after putting a new timing chain/gears on. I didn't clean it at all, you still see oil in the bottom.

DSCN0979.JPG

ZacMaster

It was 121k. The oil I drained from it after the auction was DISGUSTING. Maybe I’ll just do some frequent oil changes once running and check again. No indication the engine was running poorly, so I’ll leave well enough alone....

Thank you as always for the guidance.

Desert Sasqwatch

Goblin Guru