Barichuk City Goblin - 07 SS/na auto

barichuk

When the covid thing started I was put on furlough with my employer, and found myself with not much to do. I have always been a fan of the VW and the MGTD kit. I had been researching the Goblin, and after cleaning the garage three times and pacing the house,my wife said "Find something to do!" I found a Cobalt in a yard in Virginia that had been wrecked on the drivers front, and sight unseen (not recommended) I purchased it for $1150 plus shipping. When it arrived I immediately put it in the garage and commenced the tear-down. I am currently (12-26-20) just a little beyond the last of the videos, about half-way through the build, and have learned more about cars than I ever wanted to, and have had more fun than I thought I would. I am not a mechanic, I have no fancy tools, just common hand tools, and for anyone doing this for a hobby, this is all you need. I will organize the log as I go through in what I consider the main things I have learned on this venture.

I. The Tear-down. I pretty much followed the D. F. Goblin videos on Youtube, which made the disassembly very simple. however there are three (maybe more) key things I learned in the process.
A. When taking apart the front struts, I thought I needed the spring compressors for removing from the donor. Wrong. To remove the struts it is just the three bolts at the top and the bolts at the bottom. I got the unit out and returned the borrowed spring compressors, and could not remove the main nut at the top. I took the struts to a friend who had air tools (and knew what he was doing). He cautioned about parts flying everywhere, put the struts on a work table, and sent the shocks about 20 feet across the room. Use the compressors at the right time, and the job is much easier.