Engine and Transmission

trophy1

Since I am new to this I have a 2 part question.

1. How do I determine what engine I have?(2.0 or 2.2) I know that it's from a 2010 base cobalt, and can a supercharger be added to it?

2.How can I find out what transmission I have ? f23 or f35? It is an automatic. Pic below is the only tag on transmission.

Thanks!
Brian

Attachments

Ark :D

Goblin Guru
  1. It's a 2.2. Since it's a late model, you can add a supercharger, but it will need to be tuned.
  2. The automatic is neither a F23 or F35. Those are manual trans.

Dsteinhorst

Several of us have supercharged our 2.2 Goblins. 250whp is achievable. It's straightforward but has its complications. A professional tune is absolutely required and runs $800-1500

trophy1

Sounds good but I thought I would stay with a auto. My issue is a bad left foot. injury in service. Plus I'm 65 so an auto would be right up my alley. I was hoping to find a better auto or maybe a stout rebuilt unit for it.
Thanks! the Goblin group is great!

Chubbs

I've never had a ride in the stock NA automatic goblin. But, I'm willing to bet it's still fast.

Before throwing forced induction at it, I would complete the build and get it running. Enjoy it for a bit, and then decide if it needs more. You may be surprised. It'll be faster than 95% of cars on the road. 150hp is a lot when it's only moving 1500 lbs.

comegetjoe

Goblin Guru
What is the automatic thats used in the 2010 HHR SS? They had automatics that, i assume, would be plenty stout to take a supercharger and 2.2 setup.

jirwin

Goblin Guru
Same trans. I think it'd be fine too. Without going under a 3.1 pulley you should be pretty alright. I too recommend finishing the build first, but man is it night and day with the supercharger. Much higher smiles per gallon

Lndshrk Steve