Two Questions

ctuinstra

Goblin Guru
My son and I are looking at building one together. But I have a few questions.

1) Has anyone placed any value on the finished product? In other words, after the build is it worth more than the cost of the build. Has any sold one yet. Not looking to make a profit, just want to know what the potential return might be if I should have to sell it once he is out and on his own.

2) How difficult is it to get insurance through the typical big insurance companies?

Root

I have no such experience in these matters, but .......

1) The value is to be measured in one of two ways:
The collective cash value of all parts & labor expendatures related to the construction of the vehicle.
Or, the value is to be measured by the enjoyment & comraderie you shared with your son while working on the project; not to be considered by the fair market.

2) It is my understanding that registration is the challenge, not liability coverage.

AleX1/9

1) Has anyone placed any value on the finished product? In other words, after the build is it worth more than the cost of the build. Has any sold one yet. Not looking to make a profit, just want to know what the potential return might be if I should have to sell it once he is out and on his own.
Lonny, Adam, and crew will build you a turn key turbo for around $32k and I think the base model is low to mid 20's. Pretty sure this includes sourcing a donor (with varying miles and condition) and all body panels. I haven't heard of any builders selling or advertising theirs for sale, but I assume a completed one would bring a bit less than one built by DF. As with any vehicle, quality of the parts and build vary and so would the prices. If I ever sold mine, I wouldn't expect to get much more than my total investment.

ctuinstra

Goblin Guru
I have no such experience in these matters, but .......

2) It is my understanding that registration is the challenge, not liability coverage.