GOTW - 3-29-24 #184 Russell from Waller, TX

Adam

Administrator
Staff member
This week's Goblin of the Week is #184 from Waller, TX. Russell is a motorcycle guy at heart but the Houston Goblin guys still let him be part of the group :p

What is your name?
Russell

Where are you located?
Waller, TX

What is your forum screen name?
@Rttoys

Build log on forum:
Rttoys’s track- ‘06 ss/sc #184

What is your chassis number?

When did you buy your Goblin?

Tell us a little about yourself.
I am an auto technician by trade and basically love anything outdoors. I have had a couple of sports cars when I was younger, but have been riding/racing motorcycles for 30 years and that’s my real passion. Getting back into cars has been a fun and new challenge, though.

How did you become interested in cars?
Basically, high school auto mechanics class introduced me to the fun side of cars. Growing up on the farm, all you have is trucks and tractors, but I wanted speed and cars would fill the void. Although I prefer motorcycles, cars are a lot of fun, especially pushing them to the max.

What drew you to the Goblin?
The simplicity of reusing so many parts of the cobalt intrigued me. You have something that is custom, but parts are available everywhere. Not to mention, the uniqueness of the goblin really sets it apart from a lot of kit cars, especially replicas.

How does the Goblin fit into your lifestyle? (daily driver, weekend warrior, both)
Both

Tell us about your build. (who did you build it with? where did you build it?)
This was mostly a solo project, but my lovely wife was a good helper during the build, especially when I was stuck on the harness due to my colorblindness, she was great at identifying wires. I also think she had a little too much fun dismantling the cobalt and setting off airbags (on purpose). We built it here at home, with plenty of space in our airplane hangar.

What, if anything, have you modified on your Goblin that sets it apart from others?