Plastidipping your Goblin

Ark :D

Goblin Guru
Good morning Goblineers,

It recently occurred to me that there's threads on this forum discussing painting and wrapping Goblins, but nothing on the subject of plastidipping them. Being that I went for the plastidip route and am in love with the results, I figured I would detail the experience here, at least to some degree.

The full story is available in my build log, HERE.

20200925_095105.jpg 20200925_095049.jpg 20200925_095029.jpg

My mantra when building my Goblin has always been, to do absolutely everything I can possibly do by myself, by myself ... including the finishing touches. I've had limited experience with wrap, mostly in the form of tinting windows and applying wrap/decals to commercial vehicles, so I was intending to go that route vs. paint (I have no painting equipment and was also worried that my lack of experience would produce a non-optimal job). Then I started reading about plastidip.

I ended up going with a Snow White top coat over an Avalanche Grey base coat, with a pair of Lava Red racing stripes down the middle. The vendor I went with is DYC (DipYourCar.com). I am not affiliated with them, but my experience was very good so I wanted to share that.

Dipping was very easy. It's very forgiving to the novice, and is not expensive. One gallon of each coat is all you need, and you'll have some left over. I used a little over half a gallon each of Avalanche Grey for the base, Snow White for the top, and less than a quart of Lava Red for the stripes. The finish is matte and pretty basic, but I did not want to get too crazy on my first attempt, so I stayed away from any of the gloss/matte topcoats and no crazy hyper/colorshifts or anything like that.